Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

DIY Lens storage box
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:13 am    Post subject: DIY Lens storage box Reply with quote

Hi,
India being hot and humid I decided to build myself one of these, the other reason is that I love DIY and also working with tools.
This is the rough plan I have in mind, any suggestions, ideas are most welcome. I have no prior knowledge about storing lenses so any help from senior members will be a boon

Dimensions will be ~ 24x24x18 inches. Wood on the bottom and three sides with one side of thick plexiglass through which i can see the lenses as well as a digital hygrometer. Top will be wood on a hinge.
Is the side fan for ventilation a good idea? And what if I kept a pouch of calcium chloride inside as well?
C&C please!

TIA

Edit - thanks to Scheimpflug, have dropped the idea of the calcium chloride and the hygrometer

Last edited by adityap on Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:21 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice idea!!
This is my solution so far as Australia is hot and humid as well Sad especially since summer is coming up.
#1 Plastic boxes...I have just recently drilled some holes for ventilation.

#2 I need more boxes and a proper shelving system...my lenses are growing.

#3 Old film canisters for the silica crystals...although I am still trying to work out the amount I need per box as I have to change/reactivate these at least every 2 weeks....rain and bad house design.

I would really like to see what you can come up with,as this is very important to me as no use buying the gear if I can not protect it.