Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

what are the biggest bargains you have found?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2015 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tb_a wrote:
cooltouch wrote:
Valjo, congratulations on an incredible deal. The 50mm f/3.5 Elmar is probably the sharpest lens that Leitz has ever made. It may be slow, but it is an amazingly good optic.

It's a Russian fake. However, it may not be bad either. Wink

I've compared the shown picture with some original lenses from the Leicashop. They are looking a little bit different.

The Elmar should be a genuine copy(triple checked myself). However, I am not an Leica expert. Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2015 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

calvin83 wrote:
tb_a wrote:
cooltouch wrote:
Valjo, congratulations on an incredible deal. The 50mm f/3.5 Elmar is probably the sharpest lens that Leitz has ever made. It may be slow, but it is an amazingly good optic.

It's a Russian fake. However, it may not be bad either. Wink

I've compared the shown picture with some original lenses from the Leicashop. They are looking a little bit different.

The Elmar should be a genuine copy(triple checked myself). However, I am not an Leica expert. Rolling Eyes

The front scale and markings are rather good but still there are minimal differences.

However, even the FED 50/3.5 which is most probably the basis of this lens and an (almost) 100% copy of the Elmar is a very good bargain for Euro 1.50 and it's definitely not a bad lens.