Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Complete Helios Lens list anyone?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

torbod wrote:
Thanx for the reply. Shall I start attacking the lens from the front or back to unscrew the optical group? I have only taken Takumars apart so far, so I'm a rookie on this one.

Just grab the whole front of the lens with one hand, and the back screw mount with the other, and twist the front anti-clockwise. The whole optical assembly should unscrew from the focusing mount.

This contains pictures of the process. Don't apply too much force, I mean a bit of force might be necessary at first, but if it's stuck it might be that your lens has a different design, though it's a bit unlikely.

Once you have unscrewed the optical group, check the focusing assembly for shims. If there are none, there's another thing you could check: the back group is held in place with the screw that transmits aperture movement (no. 5 in the above pdf). If you remove the screw, you should be able to turn the back group so that it screws deeper towards the front. That in turn will make the whole optical group sit a bit further back when you reassemble the lens, and might well correct your problem.