Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Polyester is NO good!
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 7:05 pm    Post subject: Polyester is NO good! Reply with quote

I recently returned to using Adox CHS film (this is the stuff that was Efke, made in Croatia). I adore it. It is one of the last remaing proper high-silver content films.

I was really dismayed when I got my latest batch and discovered a label on the carton stating "NEW CLEAR POLYESTER BASE". I work as a lab technician in film coating technology, and I already know that Polyester is a nightmare for static electricity generation. Celluloid materials that film are usually made from is not a problem, as it has a high moisture content and the static can dissipate before it has a chance to build up. Polyester is an oil based film and has no moisture content at all. We have spent many thousands of pounds eliminating static build-up on our films in the factory.

So, just three films in to my new batch, and I have started getting static discharges in the film, and it is wrecking some frames.

This is a classic static discharge pattern. I fear that I have used my last Adox Crying or Very sad

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polyester base is incredibly wide spread on large and medium format film, and has been for many years. I haven't had any issues with them, but then, these films are back-coated, while 135mm is blank and uses a felt-lipped cartridge - which both increase the risk of static discharges.

Sevo

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote