Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Suggest some older Nikon lenses for f801s
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:08 am    Post subject: Suggest some older Nikon lenses for f801s Reply with quote

Hi all,

Im / was looking for a manual operated Nikon body for some time.
Prices went mad .. film is new 'rage'.

I have my old F801s. It's a great camera that I've been using previously for 10 years.
Have also 2 Tamron zooms from that time.
So Im thinking: re-use that body and add some lenses.

Now Im last 10 years out of the Nikon game (last one was D200).
Forgot a lot about Nikon lenses and their compatibility (to older film bodies) and their quality.

Now I would like to add other/more glass for that body - from wide to normal, eventually a short tele. .
Im not sure If I need/want any zoom - maybe if there are some 'very exceptional' one's
from that early AF era.

What would you suggest as a 'good' lens(es) ?
What I meant with 'good': as a first thing for me is the character.
Sharpness is any way a bourgeois concept so that's in the second place.
Maybe even third ..

Cheers

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Nikon 28-85 f3.5-4.5 AF that has taken some great images. Picked it up cheap as well.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not familiar with the F801s -- I presume it is an autofocus camera -- but my recommendation is that you first find out what Nikon lenses the F801s will accept, which will aid you in your search. There's no point in my recommended old Pre-AI glass, for example, if it won't work with the F801s.