Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

which wide angle landscape lens?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:04 pm    Post subject: which wide angle landscape lens? Reply with quote

Looking into a good m42 wide angle lens that wont brake the bank for landscapes. Anywhere in the 16-24 range but cant find too much info. Im pretty new to the MF world and was thinking about the czj flek 4/20. Any ideas? Thanks

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Flek 4/20 is the best possible choice for architecture.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use wide angle from 16 to 24 and 28mm for landscapes, except urban ones. Wide angle lenses on aps sensor or even on 35 mm film cannot resolve distance details of the scene. I use 35 mm or 85,90,100,135 , 200 for country landscapes.

Urban pics : 20 and 24 mm (with ff sensor). 12 and 14 for aps. Flektogon 2,8/20, Mir-20 or Mir-47 (K mount) can be a good choice. I use these lenses...

Lanscapes with wide-angle (90-100 °) are great with a 8x10 " view camera...
Of course , this is a personnal point of view !

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have very good experience of following lenses:

1) Carl Zeiss Jena Flektogon 20mm, 35mm
2) Olympus OM 18mm,21mm,24mm,28mm
3) Yashica ML 24mm, 28mm
4) Nikkor 20mm,Nikkor 24mm, Nikkor 28mm, Nikkor 35mm
5) Tamron SP 17mm f3,5

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem with landscape shots taken with a superwide lens can be that the subjects in the landscape can become too small. You've got a lot of foreground and a lot of sky in the picture.