Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Manfrotto 190XPROB
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:10 pm    Post subject: Manfrotto 190XPROB Reply with quote

I am tired of my old tripods, I would like one that is maybe not professional, but good enough to be used for both photo mode and video mode in case I need to make video.
I was thinking of Manfrotto 190XPROB, which I read can be set horizontal for macro and product shots.
Manfrotto tripods here can be found with decent prices.
I was wondering if anyone has ever used this model, and your opinion. Also I would like to know what head did you choose for it.
Thanks.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no direct experience with the 190XPROB, but I have a 055XPROB.
My understanding is that the 190 series is a bit smaller & shorter overall,
and potentially not quite as stable as the 055 series. If you seek lighter
weight and a smaller collapsed size, the 190 is the winner.

I am very happy with my 055, though it is a somewhat large and heavy
tripod. As a result, it's been rock-steady for me. It extends tall enough
without raising the center column to be perfectly comfortable to use
by tall people. The center column also goes horizontal, and can even
be reversed for low-to-the-ground use, just like the 190. I topped mine
with a Manfrotto 488RC2 ball head, which has been superceded by the
newer 498RC2 head, that includes a separate friction control.

However, a fluid panning head may be more appropriate for video use.
I've been learning that a fluid head offers considerably smoother panning
action, though at the loss of versatlilty offered by ballheads.