Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Same subject, different cameras, films, development
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 10:52 pm    Post subject: Same subject, different cameras, films, development Reply with quote

There is a statue of an angel on a gravestone in the local churchyard that has become one of my favourite subjects for camera testing.

It occurred to me that it would be useful to compare the shots and gather some feedback on the technique of shooting this subject as it would also apply to portraiture which is something I have very little experience in.

First up is a colour shot on long expired cheap C-41 film with my Konica C35 with 38mm Hexanon lens:

Second is with a 1930s Voigtlander Bessa with Voigtar 3.5/105 lens, Fomapan 100 film in Fomadon LQR developer:

Third is with a 1957 Kiev-II and 1963 Jupiter-9 2/85 lens, EFKE 50 film in Paterson FX-39 developer:

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most important parameter (so to say) with statues (and with static objects in general) is the time of the day.
So I would first experiment taking photos at different times of the day, so that you can compare the results with different light directions.
If available light is not of your satisfaction you can enhance it with an additional flash.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks orio. The J9 and Bessa shots were at the same time actually.

I will try different times, these were all late in the day with the light coming strongly from the right.

As I remember, it was quite cloudy when I made the Konica shot, hence the softer lighting.