Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

M42 -> EOS adapter, damage to camera possible?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:25 am    Post subject: M42 -> EOS adapter, damage to camera possible? Reply with quote

Hello,

I am quite new to MF lenses on my Canon EOS 30D. Until now I used a simple machined M42 to EOS adapter without AF focus confirmation ship.

Based on a review by Bob Atkins, I ordered a M42 to EOS adapter with a chip glued on it from a Russian company called Rugift (Bob Atkins speaks highly of them). It has not arrived yet, but I have some worries about that chip:

While it would be very helpful to have a focus assist, is there any risk that the chip can short circuit or damage the AF circuit in my camera? How critical is the alignment of the chip on the adapter? Does anyone have those Rugift adapters, and how well do they work?

Thanks in advance for your answers!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome! We have many Canon owners I hope they are reply to you soon. I never heard this kind of problem with adapters.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There have been issues reported, but these seem to be rare.

Ebay has some suggested articles linked during certain search results,
and one of them was about how someone had a chip fry his EOS camera.

Unfortunately, ebay isn't responding for me right now. Once I can get
back on their system, I'll look for that article and post the link for you.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote