Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

how to spot a fake sonnar?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:11 am    Post subject: how to spot a fake sonnar? Reply with quote

this is the sonnar that i fond on my Kiev4 camera bought on ebay

it's full of scratch and fungus, so before spend 50€ for cleaning it i need to know if is real or if is a jupiter-8.

the lens don't have coating.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/e-coli/3908079208/

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not a Zeiss expert, but your picture seems to show the serial number as "Nr.20400", which I think is far too low for any Contax lens. No doubt other forum members will give you more positive information.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Best place where to ask this question would be the Zeiss & Zeiss Ikon Collectors Group.

Ciao Latente Smile

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like a fake to me! Let it go.

Klaus

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not an expert but the serial number does not look much Jena to me.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The number was not completed - bezels were pre engraved, and the last three or four digits filled by the assembly line.

It might be one of the Kiev Sonnars made from Jena parts, or a post war home-assembled lens (these were made by former Zeiss employees from parts stolen from the factory and/or salvaged from bombed sites, and sold on the black market). Or it could even be a factory reject rescued from the scrap bin.