Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Should I really care about large aperture lens?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jito wrote:
I can't find the page now. But a while ago I red a rather comprehensive article explaining the limitations of modern dSLR focusing on high apertures. I'm not sure 'calibrated' was the exact word, it mentioned that the microlenses on the focusing screen are not accurate enough to show an image out of focus when the focus is off by just a little bit.

Another thing I'm not quite getting is all the references to experience and practice. As a newbie, I want to respect the experience of those that have been taking pictures for many years, but if I may, what exactly takes practice? Someone mentioned that if on knows his equipment he/she will know where the focus is for a given lens even without any sort of feedback, not even image sharpness. Is that what you guys mean by experience and practice? Sounds like a not so enjoyable way of taking pictures, even for those with practice.

I mean zero sarcasm in my questions, I'm genuinely curious.

If you look VERY carefully at the Canon focusing screen, and I mean CRITICALLY CAREFULLY you can see the shimmer of the microprism when rocking focus in and out...but it's certainly not as apparent as on focusing screens of 35mm film bodies....