Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Shooting film for the first time in more than a decade
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:09 pm    Post subject: Shooting film for the first time in more than a decade Reply with quote

I've been an all-digital photographer ever since I became serious about my photography (I did shoot film until digital became affordable around my late teens and I even developed and printed b&w once at school, but that probably doesn't count). Against what I would've thought even a few weeks ago, I'm going to start shooting some film for what I consider an unlikely reason: cost.

I work in downtown Buenos Aires, a city which I absolutely love. I always wanted to do some street photography, but I'm just not comfortable walking around my EOS 60D + zoom lens. It calls too much attention to itself, and I REALLY wouldn't like to get it stolen. While I'm normally not afraid of walking around BA, I'm EXTREMELY careful when I'm out with my DSLR. So on the few occasions I actually take it with me, I often keep it inside my messenger bag, which means I only only seldom make any pictures with it on the streets.

For a while, I thought the solution would be a pocketable mirrorless camera + pancake wide lens kit. But it's expensive (since I REALLY dislike most entry-level MILCS, as I'm far too used to quick manual controls on my DSLR), and even a pocketable camera could get stolen.