Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Contax AX slr
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:22 am    Post subject: Contax AX slr Reply with quote

Has anyone had any experience of using this camera? It incorporated an autofocus mechanism in the body itself the moved the film plane back and forward +/-10mm to allow mf Zeiss lenses to remain unchanged. It seems to me the body would need to be fairly wide but would that help or hinder? Probably depends on your hand size.
I'm new to digital wizardry but would it be possible for Contax or others to issue a digital version today? I am intrigued by the idea of a camera with the ability to take most mf lenses available and offer an af mode if required,imagine a souped up A7 with this feature..with it's bigger size it would also improve handling hopefully. Shall we see a Sony/Zeiss/Contax hybrid in the next couple of years?
I don't know if digital sensor's can or will react in the same way as a film platform would, it may be impossible due to the natural differences between film and digital, others far more versed in all this will be better informed.

Contax AX : http://www.h1photo.com/131000.html

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No reason why that sort of system couldn't be incorporated with a digital sensor in mind.

I suspect its a question of market tho. And for that reason i cant see how it would happen. Surely a small flange allowing the user to add adapters as he or she wishes is just as useful?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This idea had been discussed in other forums before.

We have image stabilizer in Pentax, sony alpha, olympus, and perhaps more.