Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Advice for purchasing a wide angle MF lens
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 1:49 pm    Post subject: Advice for purchasing a wide angle MF lens Reply with quote

Hello Everyone!

First, I'm a beginner to MF lenses and also new in here so I would like to say a big hello to everyone here!
And English is not my first language, so please be patient.

Now I'm looking for a wide angle fast MF lens which can be mounted on my Nex-5N as well as my EOS 50D. I plan to mainly use this wide angle lens to shoot some video indoors with Nex-5N, and if it can also be mounted on the EOS body with glass-less adapter ring it will be great.

Cost is a big issue for me so I would like to find something cheap but with good performance. Maybe below 100 usd is a good starting point for me.

Now I have Sony E18-55 kit lens, EF 18-55 kit lens and EF 50 1.8 prime lens. My problem with the Sony kit lens is that this lens has a very long turn-around distance on the focus ring, I mean it's difficult to rock focus when shooting video. So I want to find a MF prime lens that has moderate rotation degree of the focus ring. And in my mind prime lens would also produce better image quality than the Sony kit lens.

Since Nex-5N and EOS 50D are both crop sensor cameras, so I want to find a 24-30mm range prime lens for indoor use. Otherwise I think it either would cause too much perspective distortion or is too long to use indoors with a crop sensor. I thinks 28mm is a good focus length to fit my needs.

Base on the above requirements I found the following lenses.
Olympus Zuiko OM 28mm f2.8
Vivitar 28mm f2.8 and 28mm f2.0
Pentacon PRAKTICAR 28mm f2.8
Pentax M28mm f2.8
MEYER-OPTIK 28mm f2.8