Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Total newbie seeks guidance
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:19 am    Post subject: Total newbie seeks guidance Reply with quote

I've shot RAW+ JPEG for some time now but had never gotten around to process
any RAW's, aside from iPhoto's small stuff with the JPEGs...

I had bought Aperture but will not use it since it's being killed....

I've recently started reading about "black dot, white dot", Levels, curves and other processing stuff.

What software can i start learning on ??

I'm using this computer :
iMac Retina 5K
Yosemite OS X 10.10.2
4 GHz Intel Core i7
32 Go 1600 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 Mo

I need all the input i can get !

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mir,

I find Adobe Lightroom very intuitive for beginners.

There is a lot of tutorials on the web to get you started, including youtube,

Cheers,

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Honestly, Aperture is brilliant, and i can do 90% of what i need so quick in it, dont let it deter you that apple killed it

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

O.K.

And when Aperture can't be used anymore... what happens to the saved work ??

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, Mir, what camera are you using? I find that the software that came with my Canon EOS DSLR, Digital Photo Professional, was decent, at least, for converting raw images to .TIF or .jpg files.