Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Have MD Rokkor X 50/1.4, can you check...
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 9:14 pm    Post subject: Have MD Rokkor X 50/1.4, can you check... Reply with quote

Hey gang,

If you have a Minolta MD Rokkor-X 50/1.4 then can you tell me about how much focus throw travel you have from infinity to minimum focus distance? The distance the elements move.

I'm a rookie at fixing these lenses but I had a rough focusing one and having about 5 50/1.4 breakdowns under my belt I thought I'd try it on this lens. Here's the deal...I had a hell of a time getting the full focus throw to work w/o it getting hung up as I approached MFD (min focus distance)...it was painful and was due to my lack of experience with the focus ring on this lens. It's hard to explain but I think I have full focus throw on this lens but oddly enough it doesn't represent this on the distance indicator.

Right now on the stop of infinity the rear of the lens (metal element housing) I have about 1/2mm protrusion and it certainly seems this is the correct spot compared to an untouched MC Rokkor-X 50/1.4. Now as I focus to MFD it stops about 1/2 way between 1.75 and 2 feet (should be 1.5ft) on the distance scale (this is the hard stop). Unlike infinity I think it's not the focus ring hard-stop tab, rather it's the max out of the lens group screwing into the helicoid.

My total focus throw from infinity to MFD (again shows half way between 1.75 and 2) of the front lens group (as measured on the element shroud) is 5.5mm My other untouched MC Rokkor is about 7mm of element group travel.