Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Vivitar 28mm f2.8 .. a cleaning attempt.
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:01 pm    Post subject: Vivitar 28mm f2.8 .. a cleaning attempt. Reply with quote

Hi,

I was wondering if someone who knows this lens and is familiar with the structure and disassembling of this lens can provide some info/guidance on how the optics can be disassembled to clean off fungus.

I did make a small album that can be found at the link below. Key may be the lens schematics in the first picture.
http://s72.photobucket.com/user/parodias/library/Vivitar%2028mm?sort=6&page=1

I have no experience with disassembling a lens but I thought it could be fun to give it a try instead of throwing the lens in the garbage. I was able to buy it real cheap, I think.

I have no intention to disassemble the mecahnical part if I can avoid it. There is nothing wrong with it, it is working perfectly all right, only fungus has been noticed, so I want to make an attempt to get rid of that.
I am also well and extensively documented on how to (theoretically) deal with fungus so people can skip that part Wink (I have a long standing professional experience in bio-chemistry & molecular biology which may help a bit Very Happy)

I followed instructions found on youtube (although getting off the name ring was a tough experiment) to disassemble the lens into 2 parts but that does not get me far enough.
In the schematics (first pict in the album) these "2 parts" can be identified the sections 1+2, making one unit, and section 3 the lens unit at the back of the lens.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0-2B1jiKFQ