Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Sharp lens for general use
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:03 pm    Post subject: Sharp lens for general use Reply with quote

Hello there. I am a newbie if it comes to vintage manual lenses, but I am learning slowly. I wanted to ask what do You think about Tokina at-x 28-85mm? I am looking for a lens which will take great landscape pictures and a lens which is quite wide and for macro.
I own Vivitar 70-150 which I snapped for £5 and I love this lens although it can't focus to infinity and I dont know if this is because its with adapter and it affects that?I use Canon 700d with PK to Eos adapter.
But anyway, that lens is amazing but it covers small area and I want to take wider photos, sharp.
Thank you.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and welcome Hadia.

Almost any lens can be used on your Canon with the right adapter, but as you already have a PK adapter I think it would be best for now if you concentrate on PK mount lenses.

I'm not sure whether you're looking for a landscape lens AND a macro lens, or one lens that does both. Assuming you mean the latter, I would suggest a good place to start is a Vivitar f2.8 28mm close focus, which won't cost too much. It's not too sharp at 2.8, but it really shines at 5.6-11. Click on the picture to see.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VIVITAR-28MM-F2-8-MC-CLOSE-FOCUS-MANUAL-WIDE-ANGLE-LENS/203163283267?hash=item2f4d79af43:g:lh0AAOSwtCBfnwKn

Last edited by peterqd on Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:25 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Options.
28/2,8 MDIII, nFD, OM, M, Ais

50/1,4 MDIII, nFD, OM, M, Ais