Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

17mm lens : which one?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:01 am    Post subject: 17mm lens : which one? Reply with quote

I have a RMC Tokina 17mm f/3.5 that I use with a Fujifilm XT20. I'm not obsessed with sharpness but with the 17mm lens I want to make urban shots that are sufficiently sharp from corner to corner. The Tokina lens guarantees me adequate sharpness in the center but not at the edges.
I am an amateur photographer and therefore mine is not a real need but if I wanted to improve my photos, which lens do you recommend? Budget is an important aspect.
Thanks

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are not really many rectilinear UWA lenses in 17mm available, actually no lens for little money.
My clear recommendation is the Minolta MD 17mm/F4 which should be able to deliver very good edge to edge sharpness on your APS-C camera already wide open at F4.

Here is a example test picture wide open at F4 (worst quality) from my Ricoh GXR-M APS-C camera (clickable for best quality viewing):

Most probably the best and cheapest option is a modern zoom lens in FX mount.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bought the Vivitar 17 mm 3.5 some years ago (eq Tokina) and found a Minolta 17mm f4 late last year... I second tb_a and I use it with my A7rii (full format) and am quite happy with it (I am not pixel obsessive but I have a IMAC 5k and pictures look good to me).
By the way, I am looking to buy a photo printer to develop a few A3/A4 in these times of confinement... If anybody has some strong recommendation, this would be welcomed...