Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Tamron 60-300 3.8-5.4 Lens Support?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:21 pm    Post subject: Tamron 60-300 3.8-5.4 Lens Support? Reply with quote

Hi there,

I've got a pretty good copy of the Tamron 60-300 3.8-5.4, but except for a couple of useless rough test I did right away, I didn't use the lens at all as I don't have the lens support.
I wasn't expecting to be such a hard thing to find!
So far, I couldn't find much.

Is there a lens support for another brand that can be used with the Tamron?

Thanks for any help!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made my own version of this type of support for my long lenses, but I'm an engineer and made something to suit my needs rather than bolt together parts.
The principle of mine is exactly the same though and relies on the lens resting on two small nylon pads that are adjustable for different diameter lenses. And I find it works OK with lenses where the moving focus ring rests on the pads, even push - pull Tamron's with the rubber grip.

I'll take a picture of mine tomorrow, I can't get at it at the moment. But this was my inspiration.

http://www.scvphotoideas.com/2012/09/create-heavy-duty-long-lens-support.html

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tamron made this tripod mount for the adaptall series, it fits specifically the SP 300mm f5.6 and several of the two-ring zooms. It crops up intermittently on the s/h market, not expensive.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/userreviews/tamron-adaptall-lens-tripod-grip-ring.html