Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

MC Helios 81N 50/f2 + Nikon D3300
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:41 am    Post subject: MC Helios 81N 50/f2 + Nikon D3300 Reply with quote

Hey guys Smile

I'm new to mf lenses and I've been trying to figure whole thing out. Focusing has been biggest challenge so far. C&C welcomed

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:00 pm    Post subject: Re: MC Helios 81N 50/f2 + Nikon D3300 Reply with quote

helps wrote:
I'm new to mf lenses and I've been trying to figure whole thing out. Focusing has been biggest challenge so far. C&C welcomed

nice pictures!

focusing to a running or playing dog manually is a challenge indeed Smile

only way I succeeded is to pre-focus somewhere near the dog and use aperture 8 or 11 (outside, winter it does work, indoors, black dog, not so well)

I had a d3200 but the only way to get a really good focus was by live view.

First you can examine if your viewfinder is correct, use a tripor and a light source to shoot a picture of some sort of measuring stick at about 45 degrees angle. Use viewfinder to focus exactly and see if your live view gives back or front focus.

I never could use Canon EOS cameras with viewfinder or live view, so I have Samsung NX10 for mf lenses now.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Smile

Yea, dogs are little less cooperating when it comes to keeping still.
When I shot no.3 I also used pre-focus, I can't imagine to take that shot any other way. I only used f4 but f5.6 or higher could've been better I suppose.