Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Super-Takumar 28mm f3.5
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:53 pm    Post subject: Super-Takumar 28mm f3.5 Reply with quote

Using my Takumar 28 3.5 today I noticed it's very soft at infinite at f3.5 but it's much sharper at about f8 (looks good in fact). I'm no expert in optics but it looks too soft. Perhaps it worth mentioning that it looks good at short distances, thats what makes me wonder. I've used other glass at infinity with the same camera + adapter setup without problems.

Took this with my EOS 5Dc at infinity - 100% crop at f3.5. The fence is about 15-20 meters away. Is that normal behavior?

[/img]

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah......I think it should be better than that. It's not a perfect lens wide open, and I rarely use mine wide open. Show us some shots stopped down a couple of stops, and some uncropped.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not too rare problem with Takumars (and many others too) is the optical block may have slipped and is no longer quite reaching infinity.
A bit of adjustment may fix this.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies!

Got some uncropped pics too. Sorry about the quality of them, just did some dumb shots wile going to the store - noticing the problem during the trip. Could take new pictures but dont know if it would help.

Would a 28mm be more sensitive to a faulty adapter than a 50 or 100mm lens?

anyway

http://www.likstoff.se/bilder/f35.jpg uncropped f3.5 close up
http://www.likstoff.se/bilder/f35b.jpg f3.5 from car window. looks sharper closer to car.