Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Broken back glass on lens - picture alert
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:29 pm    Post subject: Broken back glass on lens - picture alert Reply with quote

We all have seen quite some interesting results from lenses with broken front glass.

Here are some with a broken back glass. This is my first attempt to post pictures, so in case something went wrong: sorry Embarassed

The lens is an old Nikon 24.2.8, pictures of the lens taken with K5, outdoor pictures taken with Canon 10D. Maybe the pictures are not the best to evaluate, but I am surprised with the results of this "oldie with broken lens"

Filip

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this kind of blemish visible on picture above f4 if surface has big coverage and above f8 if broken like yours , thank you for sharing this experience! Clearly shows how silly to worry about some cleaning marks or scratches.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A very minor problem.
Much worse can happen before a lens is unusable.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you have to beat a lens quite seriously before making it unusable.
Thanks for the sharing, it is a good way to encourage the purchase of damaged lenses.
Smile

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be worse on a close distance, like the wine glass picture.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Attila wrote: