Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

My first experience with Biotar 75/1.5
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:58 am    Post subject: My first experience with Biotar 75/1.5 Reply with quote

Hi, I just want to share my ‘dramatic’ experience with this legendary lens.
Beware of a boring sleepy long story Smile

First of all, I am a total newbee in manual focus lens world.
So please excuse me for any naïve judgement or impression about mf lens. And please correct any invalid statement I wrote in this post.

I had my first mf lens on September-October last year, fascinated by ‘unusual’ bokeh of Jupiter-9 and since then I became an mf lens addict.

This lens previously is not in my target list. Old lens, bad bokeh and very expensive Smile
But along the way I read more about this lens (and Helios 85/1.5 too) and observed more sample photos taken with this lens, and I saw something unusual beautiful character of this lens that ignite my curiousity.
Well, I saw some seasick dizzy bokeh too in some of those photos Smile What a Jekyll-Hide character.
My curiosity was getting stronger when I saw Attila signature … Very Happy

I searched on eBay and found two types of Biotar 75, the less expensive exakta mount and the very expensive M42 mount.
I got information that the exakta mount hit 5D mirror. Some said It can be modified but I don’t want to take that risk.
Arg, just forget it, I decided to buy the cheaper Helios 85.

Until someday I was offered a mint M42 Biotar with less expensive price by a seller from manual lens forum in my country. He got it from an auction.