Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Japanese Camera Mfr Lenses of the 60s and 70s
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oreste wrote:
...and I could say something about the British class system, but I won't.....

Feel free. If it is true then us Brits will have already thunk it AND said it.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

skida wrote:
The single most important thing in photography is the image. Everything else is just cars and petrol.

Well said.

I'm no expert in economics but there is a term to describe the Leica appeal:

Quote:
The snob effect: preference for goods because they are different from those commonly preferred; in other words, for consumers who want to use exclusive products, price is quality

I'm not a sports photographer, but I bet there are a few people on this forum that can offer some pictures of moving objects that can astound too and not necessarily using a Leica. Smile

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The outstanding things in that picture aren't the color (though its nice), or the resolution (which isn't really visible unless one pixel-peeps), or in fact much else to do with a lens. Its well-composed, captures a moment that is incredibly hard to capture, and is correctly focused which is very difficult to do under the circumstances - target in rapid motion THROUGH the DOF, extreme telephoto, small DOF, etc. This was taken with great skill and luck.