Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Matching a Pentax 50mm 1.4 lens to a Canon 7D?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:46 am    Post subject: Matching a Pentax 50mm 1.4 lens to a Canon 7D? Reply with quote

The lens in question is this one: Pentax Super Takumar 50mm f1.4.

I've done a bit of reading on the subject and there appears to be two types of M42 lenses: those that have an Auto/Manual switch (and therefore an aperture pin) and those that don't. I'm really new to this and can't see any difference between the one linked above and any others that I see on ebay or while googling.

That brings me to my question: which lens adapter would you folks recommend someone use in this case? It appears that I have choices, but I'm really uncertain which to choose. Some of the posts I've read hint to the fact that the models with aperture pins are nicer to work with on dslr's because you can turn the aperture dial and immediately see results, rather than having to press the shutter to make the change? That sounds infinitely useful Smile

Thanks for any replies Smile

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you need is an M42-EOS adapter with a flange that depresses the aperture pin.

Tons of them on ebay for 4-5 dollars.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

iangreenhalgh1 wrote:
All you need is an M42-EOS adapter with a flange that depresses the aperture pin.

Tons of them on ebay for 4-5 dollars.

Thanks, I appreciate your reply! I really wasn't 100% certain that the little thing sticking out of the bottom was the aperture pin or not Wink

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome kukhuvud!