Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Tamron 35-70 f/3.5 CF Macro...Cheap
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:05 am    Post subject: Tamron 35-70 f/3.5 CF Macro...Cheap Reply with quote

As you know, I hate zoom lenses.
But I am also an instinct-driven photographer. The same instinct (or subtle perception) that lets me tell one lens from another in blind tests, also drives me in buying new lenses when a certain "bell" rings.

A few weeks ago I saw a photo from Bill taken with this lens, and the bell rang immediately. The lens was cheap on Ebay (the equivalent of 16.50 Euros) so I bought it from the USA. I didn't even have to pay customs fees as the price was so low.

This morning at dawn I tried it, all wide open (it was dark and rainy). And well my instinct was right, the lens has a great bokeh and great colours, not like usual Tamrons, actually quite different, it is not (at least wide open, don't know when stopped) as sharp as some of the Tamrons I see posted here.

These samples I took tell me of a lens with a lot of "atmosphere" to it. Sure there is horrendous geometrical distortion (did I tell you already that I hate zooms?).
But I will not shoot architecture with this one anyway.
The lens also renders a quite remarkable "3D effect", not as much as Zeiss lenses, but damn close. I never saw this much 3D effect in a non-zeiss lens like this, except for some Leicas and a few Russians (especially the MIR-24M).

One thing that tells something about me: for about half an hour I played with this lens and never thought or felt the need of moving the focal lengh control. I photographed everything at the preset lenght of 70mm. In my mind, the zoom concept was totally alien.