Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Schneider-Kreuznach Odd Lens- 1941???
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:38 am    Post subject: Schneider-Kreuznach Odd Lens- 1941??? Reply with quote

Bought this one on eBay for 99 cents. Serial number seems to suggest that it is 1941-1942 vintage lens....but I am no expert. Fits on a C-mount adapter for my trusty Lumix GF2.

If it was made in the early 40's, it seems unusual that it is coated, that the lettering on the bezel on the front of the lens seems to be gold-filled and that the scale of measurement of focus is in feet and not metric.

Could somebody tell me what I have bought? Just received it today. ????????????

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the date of the serial number and the Retina name on the nameplate, it is an uncoated lens used in Kodak Retina I camera. It was remounted to a helicoid in C mount.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the information that I find online concerning Schneider-Kreuznach serial numbers, this lens was made sometime between September 1939 and June 1942. Germany was at war with much of the market for Kodak Retinas at the time that this lens seems to have been made.

Although the coating does not show up well on the photographs that I have attached to this post, I am certain that the front element of this lens is coated.

Maybe it's some sort of hybrid that Schneider decided to make.........using lenses and bodies that were made for an export market that no longer existed for them.....????

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote