Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Reversing CY==> m42 conversion?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reversing CY==> m42 conversion? Reply with quote

Hi all. I got Contax 100/2 lens. It has been converted to m42, but the previous owner gave me the CY mount. Now, I have zero experience with working on lenses. Is the reverse conversion possible? How hard is it for complete noob to perform it? Any site/video/manual how to go about it?
Thank you for any input or suggestion. Great lens, but in m42 is not really useful for me. I am attaching link picture of what I got
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c50u8eb0yy99ktl/20160101_223659-1.jpg?raw=1

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please change your nickname something less spammy!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lovely lens, enjoy it.

The work is simple to carry out, just make sure you have good screwdrivers. I would order a set of Japanese Industry Standard (JIS) drivers, or borrow a set if you can. Undoing the screws is normally the most dangerous job on these older lenses, but given that a conversion has already been done, they shouldn't be too difficult to remove to replace the mount with the bits you have.

Heres a link to a Youtube clip on this lens. Don't be concerned, this is a total strip down. just look for the bit where he throws the mount together.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Awz5saMnpyg