Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Reassembly of lens mount on Canon FDn 400mm F1:4.5 telephoto
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reassembly of lens mount on Canon FDn 400mm F1:4.5 telephoto Reply with quote

Hi everyone. I am a newcomer to the forum.

My background is that of a multi-disciplined engineer having served an apprenticeship as an optical instrument maker at Rank Kershaws in Leeds during the early sixties and also worked at Rank Taylor Hobson in Leicester during the seventies before branching out into other areas including electronics systems design and teaching in both FE and HE.

As for hobbies I like making all sorts of technical devices, enjoy cycling and walking and spend a lot of quality time with my grand-kids. I have a number of longer, ex-government lenses from 36" F1:4 down to 12" F1:4 that I am modifying for use with my digital camera by fitting them with focussing mechanisms derived from legacy/scrap 35mm MF prime telephoto lenses.

I have just purchased a Canon FDn (New FD Mount type circa 1981-on) 400mm F1:4.5 telephoto lens for use on my Samsung NX300 CSC with a view to using it as a lightweight long lens for wildlife photography - it is one of the lightest 400mm lenses of that aperture and also has good performance from wide open to F1:11 and stops down to F1:32. However, from F1:16 down it softens noticeably from the effects of diffraction.