Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

PENTACON 50/1.8 M42 with NEX-5 problem
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:19 pm    Post subject: PENTACON 50/1.8 M42 with NEX-5 problem Reply with quote

Hi, i'm a newbie in MFlenses and digital cameras.
I have a Pentacon 50/1.8 mounted with a M42 on a NEX-5 and i have few problems.
First, my focus works only between 0,40 and 1 (half of maximum focus)
Second, the picture looks like a zoomed picture (±200%).

Question: is the problem the distance between the sensor and the lens that is not the native distance, or i need to fix something in the lens?
Thanks for your answers.
Alex

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and welcome Alex.

It sounds like an issue with the distance between the mount faces of the lens and the camera. With an M42 lens on the NEX this should be about 27mm. Are you using a proper M42>NEX adapter?

Or do you mean the focus dial on the lens is jamming? Is this OK when the lens isn't mounted on the camera?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex,

Welcome on board.

The Pentacon lens you own is build for Full Frame cameras(36x24mm). Your Nex-5 uses a crop sensor (APC-C,23x15mm) . So your lens is not a 50mm after you attach it but actually more or less like a 50x1.5=75mm since your sensor is 1.5x focal length crop.

That's why it looks like it zoomed when you shoot with it;)

Give a little more detail about your focus problem...

Unless your adapter is so wrong that you actually hit the sensor when you try to focus pass the 1m

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote