Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

optional EVF for NEX5N/5R/5T/F3 fragile?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:14 am    Post subject: optional EVF for NEX5N/5R/5T/F3 fragile? Reply with quote

When the NEX5N came out I remember many voices saying that it's optional EVF, the FDA-EV1S, sticking out like that must be extremely fragile.
Please have a look at my NEX5N:

[url=https://flic.kr/p/MNo43p]
Sony NEX5N + fragile(??) EVF[/url] by andreas, on Flickr[/url]

a 100% crop showing the wear

I have been using this camera heavily since 6 years now and it's EVF always has been mounted. I don't use a neck strap but a waist pouch into which the camera has to be a bit 'forced' in and out, every time putting lateral pressure on the EVF. The EVF continues to be working just as well as it did day 1!

Interestingly most of the criticism of the EVF had come right after it had come to the market, at a time nobody possibly could have had much experience with it yet. I don't say that it can't break, of course there must be some out there who did have their EVF breaking, just as there are people out there that had their camera breaking..

I believe that the harsh critizism had been a decisive factor why Sony decided to go for the mock prism design for their A7 series of cameras, rightfully figuring that this 'traditional' design is more readily accepted. Sony also never developed any new, optional EVF nor cameras that take an optional, moveable EVF again but the now also discontinued direct successors of the 5N.