Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Nikon DSLR and manual focus lenses
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I finally decided to get a DSLR, after many years of resisting to take the "digital" plunge, my choice of camera was predicated solely on one thing, the fact that I had a couple dozen AI and AIS lenses from 16mm to 600mm and compatibility was a hard and fast requirement. Autofocus held no fascination for me. Why should it? I had been focusing manually for 40 years and it posed no limitations for me. I had owned two zooms in my life, an 80-200mm f/4.5 non-AI and 36-72mm f/3.5 Series E, but they too were gone by this time. I also had no desire whatsoever to get anything in DX format as I did not want my oft used 20mm Nikkor to become a 30mm Nikkor, I already had a 35mm Nikkor. The D3 series at the time was more than I was willing to pay so the D700 with the accessory battery pack seemed to be the best alternative. Still, it came to about 3 grand, which was a hard sell to my wife. I explained to her that at the time I got my F2 and MD-2, the price back then was probably close in "equivalent dollars" to what the D700 was costing me. 3 years on I am still very happy with it though I am still a somewhat ambivalent when it comes to digital. The D700 is a workhorse in work where a client wants proof sheets that day, something that would be very difficult to pull off with film since I do not do photography as a full time profession. Having looked at one in a camera store, several trusty Nikkors in hand, it became immediately obvious to me that the standard focusing screen simply was not going to cut it. I ordered a microprism/ground glass screen from f