Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Night shooting lens
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:57 am    Post subject: Night shooting lens Reply with quote

Hi,

I am a newbie on the forum but watching and reading for some time Smile.

I am looking for a night photo lens for Nex5, as I am in "collectors" mode for M42 lenses, could be one of them.

In February I will go to Asia and would like to chase some urban landscapes as good as people.

I was thinking about Flektagon but as many people as many opinions, I am also searching among old russian lenses in.ex. Mir or Jupiter

Thanks a lot

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If a focal length around 50mm suits you there should be no shortage of fast affordable lenses, that can be adapted to your Nex. I'm rather keen on the Pentax M50 /1.7 though thats not a M42 mount. The Helios 44 series aren't significantly slower & are generally well thought of. Both of mine were under £5 & one came with a free camera Smile

Going wider there are many options to about 28mm though it will generally cost a stop or two of light. I find adapting lenses wider than 28mm often runs into problems, as the shorter focal lengths make bigger demands on adapter tolerances.

If a focal reducer is available it will restore some of the original FOV of full frame lenses & concentrate the light typically giving you an extra stop.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DConvert wrote: