Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Newbie on film. Any recommendation?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:49 am    Post subject: Newbie on film. Any recommendation? Reply with quote

After some years of digital only shooting, I am starting to shoot again with film, and first time seriously.

I would like to shoot in B&W without flash, but I have zero experience. I was thinking of ASA 400 film. Could you recommend me some films to try? I know that each day that passes is more difficult to find them. Hope it's not too late.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Newbie on film. Any recommendation? Reply with quote

Juanma wrote:
After some years of digital only shooting, I am starting to shoot again with film, and first time seriously.

I would like to shoot in B&W without flash, but I have zero experience. I was thinking of ASA 400 film. Could you recommend me some films to try? I know that each day that passes is more difficult to find them. Hope it's not too late.

Hi Juanma

For 400ASA film I'd recommend you try Ilford Delta 400 to start with. Ilford HP5+ is another option but it might be a little more grainy - I'm just about to try my first roll of this. This pic is Delta 400 with Mir-1V on a Spotmatic SP (ignore the vignetting due to wrong lens hood Embarassed )

Slower film is less grainy and more contrast. I'd recommend Ilford FP4+ (125ASA) or for maximum contrast and detail I even prefer PanF+ (50ASA) but this will maybe be too slow for you. This is FP4+ with Super-Tak 1.4/50 on Spotmatic SPII

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Newbie on film. Any recommendation? Reply with quote

Juanma wrote: