Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Mir 20M or Mir 47?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 2:00 am    Post subject: Mir 20M or Mir 47? Reply with quote

There are two Mir 20mm lenses out there and was wondering which one is the best to pick up. The 47 seems more appealing to me since I'm a wedding videographer and the 2.5 seems like it would come in very handy at a receptiion but at the end of the day, I'd like to have whatever has the superior optics so what say the community on these two lenses?

Chris W

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two different 20M's as well... Not sure how they compare optically.

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the 20M certainly wins on presentation. I've heard that the 20M is considered the better lens optically and the 47 has mixed to negative reviews so it looks like the 20M wins. I guess I'm really hoping for good news on the 47 since it's quite a bit faster. Thanks for any help.

Chris W

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What mount are you using, and does the lens need to be Russian?

If you're on an APS-C camera, you could look for something like the Pentax DA21. It's completely different from the MIRs in just about every way possible, but it's so small it is practically a body cap. Wink

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scheimpflug wrote:
What mount are you using, and does the lens need to be Russian?