Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Minolta MD Zoom 28-85mm 3.5-4.5
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:17 pm    Post subject: Minolta MD Zoom 28-85mm 3.5-4.5 Reply with quote

This lens arrived yesterday and it seems like a nice one.
Here are a few photos with my Fujifilm X-E1 which I am still learning to use.
They are jpegs straight from the camera to here.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks pretty good!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's an excellent lens! I think you could say it's my favorite "one manual lens on a trip" zoom!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jamaeolus wrote:
Looks pretty good!

Thank you.
TrueLoveOne wrote:
It's an excellent lens! I think you could say it's my favorite "one manual lens on a trip" zoom!

Glad to hear it. I read a review by you and that influenced me to buy it. Also it was difficult to find any short zoom starting
from 28mm that was highly recommended except for the Vivitar Series 1 28-90mm which seemed too heavy for my needs.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that looks like a keeper for sure.
Great definition
Tom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On APS-C cameras, the Minolta 3.5-4.5/28-85mm is very good. And that is true for both versions, the MD-III as well as the AF. Both these lenses share the same optical core.

On 24MP Full Frame they have their limits; especially at the wide end vignetting may be cumbersome.
Detail resolution at f11 is excellent; corners (24MP Full Frame) are perfect even at 28mm.

Stephan