Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

MC 3M-5CA tight focusing ring fix ?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: MC 3M-5CA tight focusing ring fix ? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I would like to fix the focus ring of my 500mm MC 3M-5CA. It's a bit tight, and I suspect old grease being thick.

Does anyone know how to access to the focus ring helicoid in order clean it and put some fresh silicon grease ?

Thanks

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice to see you here ! Thank you for joining us! I have this lens , but works perfect so I have no experience to dissasemble it. I guess it would be not difficult Russian lenses has great construction they are not difficult constructions and they not used glue like some idiot Japananse maker. My suggestio if not makes much trouble to you, just leave it. Dissasemble a lens always risky business I do only if no other way to keep in live.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the warm welcome !

Actually I see two ways to dismantle the lens without touching (I mean not move from the barrels) optical components:

- 3 big screws on the back of the lens (M42 mount side).

- 3 tiny screws on the focus barel, hidden by the fixed barel until you focus closer. This tiny screw were paint at the same time as the focus barrel

This tiny screws seem the maid to remove initially but the fact that they are painted means that they were screwed before the focus barrels was installed.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote