Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Linhof Super Technika vs Topcon Horseman?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2023 12:12 am    Post subject: Linhof Super Technika vs Topcon Horseman? Reply with quote

I am looking for the rangefinder 6x7 for the portrait sessions. Something with 180mm or 150mm lens. I discovered, that there are very suitable systems for that purpose: Linhof Super Technika, and Topcon Horseman.

However, Linhof is generally mush more expensive, then Horseman. So, I wonder whether it is really worthy to be paid much? Or the Horseman system will be quite enough?

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2023 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no experience with Horseman but I have 3 6x9 Linhofs, including a Super Technica. Linhofs are very well engineered, a sort of Leica of the large format. When buying a Linhof you must consider not only the price of the camera but the price of the accessories you'll need, too. And this increases the price you have to pay quite much. Is the price worth it? Well, IMO, this very much depends on what you intend to do with the camera. The Linhof system is, generally, more extended and more capable than most other LF systems in most situations, but it has its limitations.

If your intention is to use it as a RF portrait camera you must consider some facts:
- The RF viewfinder is quite small, intended mostly for focusing, and you'll need to buy the additional external viewfinder. This is a very nice viewfinder (I have one), bright, with a large image, with parallax correction and covering most usual FLs, but is expensive. A cheaper alternative is the external Wire Finder (parallax corrected, as well).