Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Lens fungus removal (and greetings)
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:07 pm    Post subject: Lens fungus removal (and greetings) Reply with quote

Greetings MFlenses!

If this question is answered somewhere else on your forum, I hope you will not be too angry.

Nevertheless. I am a very amateur photographer (and, I must confess, a child of the digital age). My Dad gave me his old manual SLR a few years ago (A Vivitar XV-2) along with 3 Miranda lenses (a 50mm 2.0, a a 75-200mm 4.5-5.3 and a 28mm 2.8, for those who are interested).

I have only used the Vivitar a few times; after it piqued my interest I bought a second hand Canon 300d. Though have recently picked it back up, to see what I have learned with the Canon.

Anyway - my problem is this:

The 200mm lens has some fungus growing inside the lens - not a large amount, but enough to be troublesome (I apologise wholly for the finger smudge on the lens - it's usually clean.)

[edit] seems hotlinking from my site might not work - the URL for this image is:

www.andrew-savage.co.uk/CRW_4710.jpg

[/edit]

How easy is it to remove this fungus? I have been interested in the internals of lenses for some time, and am prepared that if I do disassemble this lens I may never get it back together. I am hoping that it isn't too difficult to get to this part of the lens. If it helps - the lens mounting screws look like:

[edit]The URL for this image is:

www.andrew-savage.co.uk/CRW_4711.jpg

[/edit]

Any help would be greatly appreciated, even if it's a flat out "it's impossible".

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote