Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

How to Macro wide-angle
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:08 pm    Post subject: How to Macro wide-angle Reply with quote

This was taken with Fuji SL1000 bridge camera in super macro mode. Im new to macro. I want to take butterfly pictures with a similar style. The wider angle look but shallower and the focal point in this case a hoverfly with that look. The question is how using an DSLR. The butterfly is unlikely to allow you within a meter. So what lens set up would one use to get the above. Im not knew to photography just trying to nail a lens to start on this kind of look. Thanks.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Venus optica released a 15mm macro lens called Laowa 15mm f/4

http://www.dpreview.com/articles/2386312472/venus-optics-laowa-15mm-f4-worlds-widest-macro-lens

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may try a wide angle lens with extension tubes before buying a dedicated macro lens.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive a nikon 24mm 2.8 AF. Can i stay at a meter and get this look with extension tubes only.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark fewtrell wrote:
Ive a nikon 24mm 2.8 AF. Can i stay at a meter and get this look with extension tubes only.

It doesn't matter what lens you try you'll never get a wide angle environment close up from 1m.
Assuming 90° FOV is wide enough for you, and you have a 1" long subject. To get your subject to take up 1/4 of your FOV your lens must be within 2" of the subject.