Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Help needed for zoom lens infinity focus adjustment
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:41 am    Post subject: Help needed for zoom lens infinity focus adjustment Reply with quote

I have an old lens Mitakon MC 28-135mm f3.8-5.2 bought in 1994. I found that the focus to infinity changes while zooming. I managed to make it focus to infinity at 135mm. When I zoomed back to 28mm, the focus to infinity is lost. I can adjust the front foucs group to achieve focus to infinity for a specific zoom, but cannot achieve focus to infinity from 28mm to 135mm when the focus barrel staying at infinity. I have some knowledge of disassembling zoom lenses, but didn't encounter this problem so far.

BTW, the macro is on at 135mm. There is no macro ring near the aperature ring. I believe many other brands such as Vivitar has similar zoom lenses.

Any help is appreciated. Please see two pictures:

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello. I don't know this specific lens, but the collimation process is quite similar in many zooms. You have to adjust separately the short and the long extremes of the zoom.

Usually (as you already know) you adjust the long extreme by adjusting the focusing group, i.e., the frontal group. This will have little effect in the short extreme. Then you have to change the short extreme. To do so, you have usually to adjust the rear group of the lens, that is to say, move this group backward or forward. Many zooms have some means to do so (typically some screws in grooves), but usually you have to dissasemble the lens to some degree.