Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Helicoid lube question
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gardener wrote:
Lloydy wrote:
It's probably perfectly good, but it's expensive and there's no tech' spec' on it at all.. I suspect some sellers have a huge drum of general purpose grease and just spoons it into small pots and sells it as helicoid grease for a huge profit, but I'm a well know cynic.... Rolling Eyes

I have a friend who started doing this (not with grease lube) and made an absolute killing. I mean you would not believe how successful he is.

Oh I believe... Rolling Eyes I've seen it done on a grand scale. I was a maintenance engineer working on pumps and machinery in the sewage treatment industry for most of my working life, and we had 4 drums of MOBIL grease in the workshop that covered everything we did, and the machinery was working in horrible conditions.
Along came a Technical Representative from a new lube company and sold our manager, not an engineer, 9 new drums of various greases at a cost of nearly £2000 a drum! Each of the grease was a slightly different shade of blue, instead of the usual brown colour grease usually is.
A short time later the Rep from MOBIL came around on his regular visit to see if we were running low on anything and told us that MOBIL was selling grease to this new company and all they did was add food dye and a 90% markup. Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote