Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Heat gun precautions?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 5:21 am    Post subject: Heat gun precautions? Reply with quote

My Pentax F 135mm f/2.8 has haze under one of the front elements and I'm trying to remove the top retaining ring.
So far, isopropyl alcohol, acetone, MEK and hair dryer heat haven't been enough to loosen the ring.
Even soaking in alcohol for three weeks didn't help.

It seems likely the retainer is being held in place by thread locker. And I believe the easiest way to break the bond is with high heat. So I'm considering the purchase of a heat gun.

I've never used / needed a heat gun before, so can anyone offer advice or suggestions? In particular, I'm concerned about possibly damaging the glass and coatings.
The spanner slots have already been marred by my carelessness.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This very likely won't come as a surprise, but using a heat gun on a lens assembly is really not recommended.

If you do decide to use a heat gun, pay a little more and make sure is has a digital temperature control, so you can set it on a low temperature (usually you can set the digital ones between 50 and 600 degree centigrade or so in 10 degree steps.) With these digital heat guns you can manually gradually increase the temperature such that the glass is not subjected to a large sudden temperature shock.

The regular cheap heat guns tend to have only one full heat setting or one high and one low setting, both of which will still be too big a temperature shock for a lens.

But, if as you say the hair drier didn't do it, I think you're not going to have much luck with the heat gun either.