Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Great Lenses to not so great?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:51 am    Post subject: Great Lenses to not so great? Reply with quote

I am fairly new to the forum, but I have a question.

Some manual lenses have a great reputation on reviews and from long time users. Some lenses have a 'cult' following, based on the history of the construction, or how difficult a lens was to design.

I guess my questions is whether there is a general way to know if a remarkable lens becomes unremarkable once adapted to a digital system?

I'm not an expert in optics, or the effect that taking a lens and adding it to a digital camera with a metal adapter has.

Are there general rules to this?

For example... (zeiss lens to sony = great, or canon fd lens to sony = not so great?)

I guess my general question is does a remarkable lens on a 35mm SLR camera become average once adapted and that space or dimensions between the sensor changes?

Thanks!
David

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For example - http://evtifeev.com/8897-gelios-40-2-85-1-5-vs-carl-zeiss-planar-85-1-4-c-y.html
Link in russian, but there a lot of sample pics that saying enough about quality. )

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are several reasons why a ceratain lens, and I mean a certain copy of a lens, because most of us only have one copy a lens model, can be lemons although they enjoy a great reputation in the net:

1. The taste of others can be very different from your own one.