Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Canon FD modified to fit EOS?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:01 am    Post subject: Canon FD modified to fit EOS? Reply with quote

I have been giving this some thought, you might be able to put me straight as I have no knowledge what so ever about lens design. IF I were to modify an FD lens by changing the helical focus start point I could in theory get the lens to "compress" further than it was intended, thereby maintaining infinity. I would only need to scavenge 2mm for the mounts to match. has anyone tried? In order to mount I would use one of the FD/EOS mounts and remove the optics. Crazy fool or optical genius you decide Laughing

BTW if any one has a cheap dispesable FD lens I could try it on?.....

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is working solution for Jupiter-9 to modify for Nikon body. I never heard this solution with Canon FD.

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:10 am    Post subject: Re: Canon FD modified to fit EOS? Reply with quote

hacksawbob wrote:

BTW if any one has a cheap dispesable FD lens I could try it on?.....

I have one that I "think" may be for Canon FD but am not sure.
It's a very nice Soligor 135mm f/2.8
big sexy glass
It's not really dispensable I think because if one can mount it it can be a very nice lens IMHO.
Unfortunately I can not use it and not being sure of the mount I can not even advertise it well, so I was thinking of setting a cheap auction such as one starting from Eur5 no reserve, saying clearly I am not sure of the mount.

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://rick_oleson.tripod.com/index-99.html