Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

aperture position on a projector lens
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: aperture position on a projector lens Reply with quote

I have been toying with the idea of building my own 50mm 1.2 lens from a projector lens, I first got a bell and Howell lens but realised it would be too difficult with its registration distance being so short so I managed to find an Eiki 50mm that has a construction and registration distance that I could work with.

don't get me wrong I have very little knowledge of lens construction and I take average at best photos but I really enjoy converting lenses........more than actual photography oddly enough!!

I really want to do a good job on this and i need some help with understanding aperture positioning in a lens, Ian posted a very very nice conversion job he did on a 90mm projector lens a short time back with a built in aperture system but my knowledge of lens construction is dismal so I need to learn.

many thanks in advance
Craig

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for bringing up an old thread but I'm hoping someone could help me out with the project I'm doing.

So I have already started the project and I'm using a nikon 50mm 1.8 lens to create a helicoid but I want to also add an aperture system to it.

With the positioning of the helix and how close the lens will be to the sensor it leave only one position to place it but I'm a bit worried that it will act more like a choke than a proper aperture system.

Here's a diagram of how the lens is constructed