Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Agitation v Inversion
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:18 am    Post subject: Agitation v Inversion Reply with quote

What's your method?

I think I've been a a bit `keen' with my inversions which could be causing my grain issues. FP4 - 4 mins in Ifosol 3, inverting 5x each min then a few taps.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agitation is performed with strong inversions, you are not supposed to shake the tank like a cocktail Wink

I'm not a real expert of darkroom problems, but too much grain I think could depend from too long development time (in other words you might have "pushed" a bit your film)
Or maybe temperature problems?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Orio wrote:
Agitation is performed with strong inversions, you are not supposed to shake the tank like a cocktail Wink

I'm not a real expert of darkroom problems, but too much grain I think could depend from too long development time (in other words you might have "pushed" a bit your film)
Or maybe temperature problems?

Maybe I should've named the thread, "Shaken not Stirred". Laughing

I'm careful about temp & timings, which is why I was looking at other reasons. I've read that too much agitation/inversion can cause overdevelopment. The other problem may be my scanning technique.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had the grain issue one a fp4 @125 iso, which shouldn't be the case. The method was inversion 10 sec , then 1 inv/minute .