Home

Please support mflenses.com if you need any graphic related work order it from us, click on above banner to order!

SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

About to process my first b/w roll at home, tips?
View previous topic :: View next topic  

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:04 pm    Post subject: About to process my first b/w roll at home, tips? Reply with quote

I started shooting b/w film again after a long time of digital-only shooting.
The last develop/scans from the only local shop that does it did not really satisfy me, both for so-so quality and high prices, so I think I will try and develop/scan negatives at home.
I read a lot about the process, and I should have everything I need (tank/spirals, film retrievers, measuring cylinders, plastic bottles, thermometers etc.) except for chemicals.
I need advices both on the overall process (as it seem clear enough to me on paper but it will be a first time, so anything could basically go wrong) and especially on what developer-stopper-fixer to buy. For now I have a bunch of Ilford HP5 plus 400 film rolls and some ilford 3200 iso that will be kindly donated by a friend, but I plan to get some different film later on, if the trial gives some encouraging results.
Any kind of advice on any aspect of the process will be much appreciated.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good luck developing your films, you will get a difference of opinion regarding which developer to use but any film dev will do it. Old film may be better exposed a stop under - ie HP5 may be better rated at 200 rather than 400.

The important things to remember:

Keep your fingers off the emulsion when loading the tank.

It MUST be absolute dark - a little glimmer of light may fog the film.

Get the developer to the right temperature by putting the container in warm water.